Battle Lines Drawn As Bigwigs Miss Out On EALA Nominations

KANU Secretary General Nick Salat

Twenty-eight Kenyans have been nominated to battle it out for nine slots at the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA). 

In a fierce battle for the positions, big names were dropped out at the 11th hour, with Kenya Kwanza presenting 15 names, Azimio la Umoja 12 names while only one independent candidate out of 16 that had applied made it to the last stage.

KANU party leader¬†Gideon Moi, who opted out of the contest, his Secretary General Nick Salat, Oburu Odinga’s son Jaoko Oburu, and Jalang’o Midiwo, a brother to the late Jakoyo Midiwo, are among prominent Kenyans that have missed out.

Of all the 16 independent candidates that had applied, only one Duncan Mwangi Ndegwa made it. 

Most of the candidates were disqualified for lacking the requisite 1,000 signatures from the constituency to back their nomination. 

Former Mombasa gubernatorial aspirant Hassan Omar, Nominated Senator David Sankok and former Balambala Abdikadir Aden head the list of Kenya Kwanza nominees, which also include, former Nandi Woman Rep Zipporah Kering, Nairobi lawyer Okengo Nyambane and Former United Republican Party (URP) Secretary General Fredrick Muteti.

Also on the Kenya Kwanza is former Nominated Senator Falhada Dekow, Anne Too, the first-born daughter of former long-serving Criminal Investigations Department Director the late Noah Arap Too, former Saboti Constituency aspirant Jonas Kuko, former Igembe Central MP Cyprian Kubai and former West Pokot Woman Rep Lilian Cheptoo. 

Others on the Kenya Kwanza list that will be battling to get 1 of the 5 positions available for the coalition are Rebecca Merikeju (Turkana), Godfrey Maina Karobia (Muranga), Yasser Ali Sheikh(Mombasa) and Salim Mohammed Busidy (Lamu). 

Kenya kwanza wins

Twists and turns were witnessed before the final Azimio la Umoja list was presented to the clerks of the committees for vetting. 

In the end, Wiper Party Leader Kalonzo Musyoka’s son Kennedy Musyoka, Raila Odinga’s daughter Winnie Odinga, Jubilee Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni and Mombasa businessman Mohammed Shahbal made it to the list.¬†

Others who will be battling for the 4 positions set aside for Azimio are former Kieni lawmaker Kanini Kega, former Shinyalu MP Justus Kizito Mugali, former Wajir Woman Rep Fatuma  Gedi, former Kitutu Masaba MP Timothy Bosire, ex Wajir South MP Mohammed Diriye, Winfred Mutua, Hellen Ndeti, and Beatrice Askul.

Nine members will be elected from Kenya to join East African Community (EAC) Parliament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *