Jubilee Party Suspends Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni, Vice Chair David Murathe

Jubilee Party suspends Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni, Vice Chair David Murathe

Former President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee Party has suspended its Secretary General Jeremiah Kioni, Vice Chairperson David Murathe, as well as National Treasurer Kagwe Gichohi over what it termed as their conduct of the political outfit’s affairs.

Jubilee Chairman Nelson Dzuya made the announcement on Friday following the conclusion of its National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting held at the Sarova Woodlands Hotel in Nakuru.

Mr. Dzuya, addressing the press after the meeting, accused Kioni of bringing the party to disrepute and arbitrarily issuing disciplinary letters without consulting the party members and following the clear procedures.


EALA MP Kanini Kega is now set to replace Kioni as Acting Secretary General, while Eldas MP Adan Keynan will take over from Murathe in an acting capacity as well. Raychel Nyamai will serve as Jubilee’s Acting National Treasurer.

“That the following party officials are suspended forthwith and their cases referred to the Party’s Internal Dispute Resolution for further determination,” Jubilee said in a subsequent statement.

“The National Disputes Resolution Committee should be convened immediately to consider the matters of the suspended officials.”

The party NEC meeting, which was attended by 14 out of 21 members, also resolved to exit the Azimio la Umoja One Kenya coalition party and enter into a cooperation agreement with Kenya Kwanza.

“Pending the convening of a Special National Delegates Convention, the National Executive Committee engages with the ruling coalition on the possibility of creating a working cooperation arrangement with it,” read the statement.

Jubilee also wants President William Ruto’s administration to recognise it as the third largest political faction in Parliament.

“The NEC demands that the Jubilee Party be recognised as a Parliamentary party with all the rights and benefits accruing thereto taking into account that Jubilee is the third largest party in Parliament,” it stated.

In compliance with the two-thirds gender rule, the party similarly co-opted some members into their NEC, namely; MPs Irene Njoki Murembo, Sabina Chege, Margaret Kamar and Jerusha Momanyi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *