As part of his ongoing effort to remove Uhuru Kenyatta’s nominees and install his own people in their places, President William Ruto appointed further individuals to the leadership of significant parastatals on Friday, February 10th 

According to the most recent list of appointees, Daniel Rono will take over Mary Chao Mwadime’s three-year term as chair of the Kenya Medical Supplies Authority (KEMSA), which she had held since April 2021 when previous President Kenyatta appointed her to the job. The last three years of Mwadime’s term were still up.

Linus Gitahi’s appointment as the head of the board of directors for Rivatex East Africa Limited was also cancelled by President Ruto. Gitahi had only been in 

his position for eight months when Kenyatta chose him in August 2022. Cleophas Lagat has taken his place and will hold office for three years.

A new Board chair joins KNH

The Kenya National Hospital (KNH) has named Dr. Samier Muravvej, a dentist and proprietor of The Smile Centre Dental Clinic, as its chairwoman for the next three years. He succeeds George Opondo Ooko, whose term was extended by former President Kenyatta for an additional three years in May 2022. The Commission of Revenue Allocation’s CEO is Ooko.

Caroline Kariuki, the Kenya Vision 2030 Delivery Board’s chairperson, who was chosen by Kenyatta in July 2022, is also gone. Kariuki formerly held the position of CEO of the Kenya Private Sector Alliance before joining Vision 2030. (KEPSA). Kariuki has been replaced by Sakwa Bunyasi, a former Nambale Member of Parliament (MP), who will take over as chairman of Vision 2030 for three years.

Additionally impacted is Northern Water Works Development Agency. Nasri Sahal has been appointed by President Ruto to serve as the Northern Water Works Development Agency’s board chairwoman until July 2025. John Lekuton, Christine Jepkoech, and Osman Abdi Sirat have been named as the organization’s new board members.

In addition, President Ruto revoked the nomination of Nelson Ndirangu and selected businessman Shaka Kariuki to lead the Kenyan Competition Authority for a three-year term.

In addition, Ruto annulled David Muthoga’s appointment as chairman of the Tana Water Works Development Agency and replaced him with James Gathaka, who will hold the position for three years.

Regina Ndambuki has taken over as chairman of the Tanathi Water Works Development Agency in lieu of William Ole Maiyani.

Lily Ng’ok has taken over Muthoni Kimani’s position as board chair of the Kenya Industrial Estates. The term of Ng’ok is three years.

Stephen Mwangi Karanja’s replacement as chairman of the Kenya Nuclear Regulatory Authority Board of Directors is former Nyatike MP Omondi Anyanga.

Hussein Tene, who showed interest in running for governor of Isiolo in 2022 on a UDA ticket, has been chosen to take Captain Paul Rukaria’s place as chair of the Kenya National Trading Corporation Board. Tene’s term in office is three years.

Ben Gituku has been replaced as chairman of the National Housing Corporation by former Vihiga MP Yusuf Chanzu.

Ali Mbogo, a former member of the Kisauni legislature, has been appointed non-executive chair of the Kenya Tsetse and Trypanosomiasis Eradication Council for a three-year term.

There is a new chairperson for the Board of Bomas in Kenya. Khadija Awale has been replaced by Jane Kiptoo. Kiptoo served as the county’s previous woman representative in Elgeyo Marakwet.

Peter Musei has been replaced as chairman of the Consolidated Bank Limited Board of Directors by Charles Muriuki.

Robert Theuri, who took over for Omar Mohamed as chair of the Kenya National Library Services Board, has also been appointed.

Dorothy Kimeu is replaced as the board chair of the Special Economic Zones Authority by Ngenye Biwott.

Dorothy Kimeu is replaced as the board chair of the Special Economic Zones Authority by Ngenye Biwott.

Moses Wekesa will take over as chair for the Insurance Regulatory Authority for the next three years after Mohamed Amin Sheikh departed from the position.

Investment Authority of Kenya

Sally Njambi will chair the board of directors at the Kenya Investment Authority for three years. She has taken Wanjuki Muchemi’s place.

Nelson Havi, a past president of the Law Society of Kenya (LSK), has been appointed by Treasury Cabinet Secretary (CS) Prof. Njuguna Ndung’u to serve as the board chair of the Retirement Benefits Authority (RBA) for a three-year term, succeeding Abdirahin Abdi.

Additionally, Ndung’u replaced Haro Okola on the Board of Directors of the Local Authorities Provident Fund (LAPFUND) for a three-year term with Beatrice Kones.

Former Kisumu County Governor Jack Ranguma was also chosen by Cooperatives and SMEs Cabinet Secretary (CS) Simon Chelugui to lead the SACCO Societies Regulatory Authority.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *