President Ruto Appoints Former MP Shadrack Mose As Solicitor General

President William Ruto has now appointed former Kitutu Masaba Member of Parliament Shadrack John Mose to be the country’s new Solicitor-General.

This comes after Mr. Mose was vetted by the National Assembly’s Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs on February 23, 2023 and given the nod. 

“In exercise of the powers conferred by section 9 (I) of the Office of the Attorney-General Act. 2012, I, William Samoei Ruto, President and Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, appoint Shadrack John Mose to be the Solicitor-General of the Republic of Kenya,” read a gazette notice issued on Wednesday.

The ex-legislator now comes in to fill the shoes left by Kennedy Ogeto, whose 5-year term as Solicitor-General came to an end this month following his appointment by former President Uhuru Kenyatta in March 2018.

Mr. Mose, who unsuccessfully contested for the Kitutu Masaba MP seat on a United Democratic Alliance (UDA) ticket in the 2022 polls, served in the 12th Parliament as a Jubilee Party legislator.

Former Kitutu Masaba MP Shadrack John Mose during his vetting for the Solicitor-General position by the National Assembly’s Departmental Committee on Justice and Legal Affairs on February 23, 2023. PHOTO | COURTESY

His nomination by President Ruto was said to have come after intense lobbying by Gusii leaders who sought their fair share of the national cake under the Kenya Kwanza administration.

Both Mr. Mose and his predecessor, Mr. Ogeto, hail from Nyamira County.

President Ruto picked Mr. Mose from a list of eight individuals shortlisted for the position by the Public Service Commission (PSC).

These included; former Law Society of Kenya (LSK) President Nelson Havi, George Kithi who unsuccessfully vied for the Kilifi Governor’s seat, as well as former Jubilee Party deputy executive director and head of legal and compliance MaryKaren Kigen-Sorobit.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *