Ruto nominates 50 CASs, including Millicent Omanga at Interior and Itumbi at ICT.


Six months after taking office, President William Ruto on Thursday this week made 50 nominations for the position of chief administrative secretaries, completing the establishment of his Executive.

Uhuru Kenyatta, the former president, had 29 CASs, with two each for the ministries of health, transportation, education, and agriculture.

The majority of people benefiting by President Ruto’s selections are supporters and losers of the Kenya Kwanza vote, as well as lawmakers who abandoned the Azimio La Umoja One Kenya Coalition after Dr. Ruto was declared the victor of the August 2022 presidential election. Raila Odinga, the head of the Azimio alliance, disapproved of the election results.

Former Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero, who joined the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) on Tuesday, just a night after seeing President Ruto at State House in Nairobi, is one of the political heavy hitters on the list.

Dr. Kidero has been nominated for CAS for the Ministry of Investments, Trade, and Industry alongside former West Mugirango MP Vincent Kemosi Mogaka and former West Pokot Woman Representative Lilian Tomitom. Dr. Kidero lost the Homa Bay governor’s contest to Gladys Wanga last year.

From left: Millicent Omanga, Denis Itumbi, Evans Kidero and Bishop Margaret Wanjiru. They are among President William Ruto’s CAS nominees.

Dr. Kidero, Mr. Kemosi, and Ms. Tomitom were suggested for the Investments docket, Trade, and Industry, respectively.

Dennis Itumbi, the digital strategist for President Ruto, was proposed for the ICT ministry, and Simon Mwangi Kamau, the immediate secretary-general of the Amani National Congress (ANC), was proposed for the Digital Economy docket. Mr. Kamau performed a significant part in the development of the alliance of Kenya Kwanza. The youngest candidates on President Ruto’s list of CAS nominees appear to be Mr. Itumbi and Mr. Kamau.

Read: Among Ruto’s recent state appointments are John Lonyangapuo and Brown Ondego

Amos Chege Mugo, a UDA candidate for the Kinangop parliamentary seat, has been nominated for the Micro, Small, Medium Enterprises Development docket, while Bishop Margaret Wanjiru, who finished second to Edwin Sifuna of the ODM in the contest for the Nairobi senatorial seat, has been nominated for CAS for Cooperatives.

Former Mumias East MP Benjamin Washiali, who last year decided not to defend his seat for the sake of concentrating on campaigning for President Ruto, was nominated for the Roads docket while former Rarieda MP Nicholas Gumbo, who was floored by James Orengo in the Siaya governor race, was picked for Transport.

Along with previous nominated Senator Millicent Omanga and former Ambassador to Saudi Arabia Mohamud Ali Saleh, former Narok governor Samuel Tunai, who lost to ODM’s Ledama ole Kina in the senatorial race, has been chosen for the Ministry of Interior and National Administration.

Former Sabatia MP Alfred Agoi, who vied for Vihiga governor seat and lost to ODM’s Wilberforce Otichilo, was nominated as Defense CAS, while former Machakos Town MP Victor Munyaka and his Babati counterpart Kimani Ngunjiri were selected for the Ministry of Lands, Public Works, Housing and Urban Developmen

Khatib Mwashetani, a former Lungalunga MP, and James Kimanthi Mbaluka, a UDA candidate for Kibwezi West MP who lost to Maendeleo Chap Chap (MCC) Mwengi Mutuse, were proposed as CASs for the Ministry of Health.

In addition to Rehema Dida Jaldesa, Wilson Sossion, the former secretary-general of the Kenya National Union of Teachers (Knut), was nominated for CAS in the Ministry of Tourism, Wildlife, and Heritage.

The nominations are made in accordance with the Public Service Commission’s advice. In accordance with the Public Appointments (Parliamentary Approval) Act, the names have now been sent to the National Assembly for review and approval.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *